events: mothers day

oregon

mothers day

This Mothers Day evoked much reflection. Not only do I have two phenomenal aunts who have made themselves available to me on many occasions, I have a cornucopia of maternal role models at the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship I attend, and I have a rich linage of independent and social reform advocating grand-mothers and great grandmothers. In particularly I have been gaining much strength from the many quilts my Grandmother Pauline made for me, the Ice-tea set my Great Grandmother Mender painted, and the lyrics from a favorite song of Grandma Judy, ever a teacher (even from the grave):

“Today while the blossoms still cling to the vines, I’ll taste your strawberries, I’ll drink your sweet wine, a million tomorrows shall all pass away, but I’ll never forget the joy that is mine today.”

 

One thought on “events: mothers day

Leave a Reply

